July 17, 2020
As employers continue to face great hardships in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, late last month California allocated $21.68 million dollars of its 2020-2021 budget to ensuring compliance with A.B. 5, the law that limits the use of independent contractors in favor of hiring employees.
July 8, 2020
COVID-19 has generated yet another lurking danger to California employers. In addition to all of the challenges that COVID-19 has presented to employers, it has also resulted in an extended statute of limitations period for certain lawsuits to be filed.
July 1, 2020
As more businesses open back up and more employees are called back to work, the likelihood of an employee contracting COVID-19 is higher than ever before. To address this increasing risk, employers must have a clear roadmap outlining how they will respond to an employee who has, or is suspected to have contracted COVID-19.
June 23, 2020
California's minimum wage does not increase until January 1, 2021. Currently, employers with less than 26 employees must pay non-exempt employees at least $12 per hour and employers with 26 or more employees must pay non-exempt employees $13 per hour or more. But on July 1, 2020, several city and county ordinances will increase minimum wage obligations throughout the State of California:
June 15, 2020
On June 15, 2020, the Supreme Court of the United States issued its decision in a series of high-profile gay and transgender civil rights cases. Specifically, the Supreme Court was asked to determine whether sexual orientation and transgender status fell within the protected class of "sex" under Title VII, a 1964 civil rights law protecting employees against discrimination.