Minimum Wage Increases Coming July 1, 2020

Posted: June 23, 2020 | News

     California's minimum wage does not increase until January 1, 2021. Currently, employers with less than 26 employees must pay non-exempt employees at least $12 per hour and employers with 26 or more employees must pay non-exempt employees $13 per hour or more. But on July 1, 2020, several city and county ordinances will increase minimum wage obligations throughout the State of California:  
 

 

 

Less Than 26 Employees

 

26 or More Employees

Alameda

$15.00

$15.00

Berkeley

$16.07

$16.07

Emeryville

$16.84

$16.84

City and County of

Los Angeles

$14.25

$15.00

Fremont

$13.50

$15.00

Malibu

$14.25

$15.00

Milpitas

$15.40

$15.40

Novato

$13.00

$14.00

(100+ employees $15.00)

Pasadena

$14.25

$15.00

City and County of

San Francisco

$16.07

$16.07

San Leandro

$15.00

$15.00

Santa Monica

$14.25

$15.00

Santa Rosa

$14.00

$15.00

    

     Additional minimum wage increases are set to take place January 1, 2021, including Belmont, Daly City, Half Moon Bay, Novato, Petaluma, Richmond, Santa Rosa, and Sonoma. Employers are encouraged to monitor the local ordinances that apply to their employees, in addition to state and federal law.

     This blog is not meant to provide specific legal advice.  For more information, please contact an attorney at Ferruzzo & Ferruzzo, LLP. 

Colleen M. McCarthy

Colleen M. McCarthy, Esq. is a Partner and chairs the Firm’s Employment Practices Group. She has dedicated her practice to representing and protecting employers, with a particular emphasis on risk mitigation through preventative counseling and sound practical advice. For 15 years, Ms. McCarthy has counseled employers about the complicated employment laws that impact their businesses to ensure that they are in compliance, and to reduce the chance of costly litigation. Ms. McCarthy may be reached by phone at (949) 608-6900 or email cmccarthy@ferruzzo.com