June 23, 2020
California's minimum wage does not increase until January 1, 2021. Currently, employers with less than 26 employees must pay non-exempt employees at least $12 per hour and employers with 26 or more employees must pay non-exempt employees $13 per hour or more. But on July 1, 2020, several city and county ordinances will increase minimum wage obligations throughout the State of California:
June 15, 2020
On June 15, 2020, the Supreme Court of the United States issued its decision in a series of high-profile gay and transgender civil rights cases. Specifically, the Supreme Court was asked to determine whether sexual orientation and transgender status fell within the protected class of "sex" under Title VII, a 1964 civil rights law protecting employees against discrimination.
June 10, 2020
You received the news that your business is permitted to reopen. For employers, this involves coordinating staff to return to work safely. But some employees may not feel ready and may be reluctant to return to work due to a fear that it may increase the risk of exposure to COVID-19. As with nearly everything related to the pandemic, bringing employees back to the workplace is complicated.
June 4, 2020
As businesses begin to reopen their doors to welcome customers they dearly missed these past few months, our local courthouses have similarly begun to reopen their doors. This is not encouraging news for employers who were forced to lay off, furlough, or reduce the pay of many of their employees. With a record number of individuals who are unemployed, COVID-19 left within its wake an environment that is likely to fuel costly litigation for already reeling businesses.