June 23, 2020
California's minimum wage does not increase until January 1, 2021. Currently, employers with less than 26 employees must pay non-exempt employees at least $12 per hour and employers with 26 or more employees must pay non-exempt employees $13 per hour or more. But on July 1, 2020, several city and county ordinances will increase minimum wage obligations throughout the State of California:
June 15, 2020
On June 15, 2020, the Supreme Court of the United States issued its decision in a series of high-profile gay and transgender civil rights cases. Specifically, the Supreme Court was asked to determine whether sexual orientation and transgender status fell within the protected class of "sex" under Title VII, a 1964 civil rights law protecting employees against discrimination.
May 26, 2020
On Saturday, May 23rd, Orange County's plan to accelerate local businesses into Stage Two was approved, permitting additional businesses to reopen with adaptations.
April 7, 2020
In its continued efforts to provide interpretive guidance for employers attempting to comply with the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (FFCRA), the Department of Labor (DOL) released new regulations that interpret key parts of the FFCRA’s emergency paid sick leave and expanded family and medical leave requirements. The regulations can be found here in their entirety. Some of the important points addressed by the DOL in the regulations include the following
October 23, 2019
Earlier this month, Governor Newsom signed Assembly Bill 51 ("AB 51"), which prohibits employers from requiring applicants and employees to arbitrate as a condition of employment, continued employment, or the receipt of an employment-related benefit.